Something new

Here is my latest attempt to update and showcase my pottery on this blog. It sometimes feels like a full time job gets in the way of hobbies.

Some of the pieces on the “recent works” page we created when Ada and I were at a 2 week workshop at Penland School of Arts and Crafts this past summer. I was very honored to receive the Antony Swider scholarship to attend. We had a wonderful time learning, seeing, and creating.

Other pieces are a result of my ever increasing geekiness towards the works of author JRR Tolkien and filmmaker Peter Jackson. The Gandalf cups (as my wife and I have come to refer to them) were inspired by the scene in Peter Jackson’s film Fellowship of the Rings where Gandalf rides to Minas Tirith, goes into the dusty archive and does a bit of research on the history of Isildur and the One Ring. In a brief shot, he is seen drinking from a beautifully simple but very functional cup. I liked the simplicity of the form so I have tried my skill at creating a few of them. My wife and I find that they fit quite well to the hand. 

Tall Gandalf cupSmall Gandalf set

Leave a Reply

